Thursday, December 24, 2009


Success in life is based on hard slogging. There will be period when discouragement is great and upsetting, and the antidote for this is calmness and fortitude and a modest, yet firm belief in you competence.---------Walter Annenberg

We, the member of local government study Network write to commend the National Assembly for the recent award for best performed local government chairmen across the country. This award will surely promote competition in terms of rural development among LG councils in Nigeria .
According to Hon. Emmanuel Adedeji, chairman House committee on states and local Government Affairs, he said that “The essence of the award is to ginger performance at the most critical level of governance in Nigeria . It has been variously alleged that local government administrators are corrupt and that they only receive allocations and share same without giving any thoughts to development of their areas.”
Adedeji continued “All we did in collaboration with the consultants who toured the whole country with us was to insist on quality and to ensure that only deserving chairmen are recognized for the award.” The criterion used according to him was to mandate the consultant first seek for nominations from all the thirty six sates governors in their respective states and the federal capital minister. The governors were asked to nominate three chairmen each while the FCT minister was to nominate only two for the award. Those nominated he disclosed were followed up with visits to projects and all these were recorded visually and evaluated for the committee to arrive at the final list.
We therefore give kudos to the 110 deserving LG chairmen in recognition of their contributions to the concept of good Governance in the country. They should redouble their efforts as they have proven themselves as role models for other LG chairmen to emulate.
Again, it would be of interest here too, to have a run down of some the awardees.
In Abia states, the senate committee on LG matters had conferred on Hon. Ezebunwa ubani of Ugwunagbo LG, Stanley Ojibo of Ikwuano LG and Sylvanus Nwaji of Ukwa west LG as best performed local Govt. chairmen in the state.
Others are Chibuike Jonas (Arochukwu LG), Emenike Okereafor (Bende LG) all in the same state.
Hon. Akeem Adesina of Obafemi Owode LG, Abayomi Tella of Ado-Ode Ota LG and Titus Olusoji of Yewa North , came out the best in Ogun State.
In Lagos State, Hon Husitode Moses Dosu of badagry LG and Yinka Durosimi of Ojo LG were adjudged the best performed in the state while Stanley Buba of Akwanga LG took his turn in Nasarawa state.
Delta state had Hon. Chukwudi Dafe of Ukwuani LG as the best.
River state produced Hon. Ephraim Nwuzi [ Etche LG] as the best performed LG chairman and Hon. Nasiru Gawuna of Nasarawa LG of Kano state was the overall best in Nigeria.
kaduna State had Hon. Gideon Yakubu Morik [Jama'a LGA]and Aminu Abdullahi of Zaria LG.
Oyo state ,Hon. Oladele Olakunle of Ibarapa East,Kwara state Aliyu Muhammed Salihu of Baruten LG.
Others are Dr. Badamasi Lawal of Charanchi LG and Hon. Nasiru Bawa Shambo, Executive chairman of Rijau LGA coming out best in Katsina and Niger States respectively.
In infrastructural category,Hon. Princewill Ukaegbu of Umuahia North of Abia state was best in Rural Integration while Dr. Amaechi Ugwu of Oji River LG of Enugu state came out best in water provision.
In Housing, Hon.Sunday Obaro Pedro of MopaMoro LG of Kogi state was the best and Dr. Zebulum Rabenson [Billiri LGA],Gombe state was best in Education.

Finally, some council bosses came out with multiple awards . They include Hon. Matthew Olory of Akamkpa LG of Cross River state, who merited the triple award as best performed LG chairman in the state, best in south south zone and second best in the country.
In the same vein, Dr (chief) Mrs. Tosin Aluko, Chairman Ado-Ekiti LG was conferred with the best female council chairman in Nigeria and best performed LG chairman in Ekiti state .
Hon. Uche Anioke, Agwu LG Boss of Enugu State was number one in the state and third best in Nigeria.

Jeff Nkwocha
Local Government Study Network 08030485016

No comments:

Post a Comment